I say Merry Christmas.

img_tf

I do. I say Merry Christmas. I’m not asking you to like it, it’s nothing personal, but I just say it because I like it. I have always liked saying it.

But I fully understand that all people do not celebrate Christmas and the more generic saying is “happy holidays,” the preferred politically correct terminology. But what the hell, why not say, “Merry Christmas?”

If a passerby on the street said, “Happy Hanukkah” or “have a great Kwanzaa” to me I wouldn’t be offended or hurt, I’d probably smile and say thanks and reciprocate their greeting. I’d look beyond the words and respect the fact that this person is wanting to share their culture, heritage and something that matters to them with me.

And quite frankly I just really, really would’t worry about it. They’re just words. It’s so easy to play the victim; isn’t it? Being hurt by words.

So what should we do?

I say just live our lives. If you celebrate something other than Christmas, then do it. We have the opportunity in the States to live our lives the way we want, and people get upset over minutia that in the grand scheme of things amounts to nothing.

I think there are far worse hate crimes being committed than someone saying, “Merry Christmas.”

Words. We’re bigger than that. Better than that.

Let’s all regroup in 2016 and try this again. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

