A garden change or challenge?

wpid-img_20150308_222947.jpgIn this winter haze I’m reminded of my garden. Of the delicate white blossoms on the pepper plants hanging like clouds. The yellow tomato blossoms like drops from the sun.

I have so much anticipation for this upcoming gardening season, and I guess this will be the season where I take a stand. This planting season I’m trying something new, I’ve done my research, and I think the garden and I are ready.

Never before have I started seeds indoors, I’ve only ever bought plants at the local farmers market for my garden. This year will be different though, I have taken a step outside my comfort zone and soon I will start the growing season.

So what kind of tips do you have for me? I have already read about using seed starter mix, placing the seeds in a window after they sprout, fertilizing soon after germination, and then adding a grow light.

But let me back up to what’s going in the plot. Rainbow chard, red lettuce, kale, arugula, and carrots will be part of the garden landscape this year.

It’s a shady garden if you couldn’t tell. And it was actually interesting in researching what vegetables are shade tolerant. And I made some great choices.

The actual choice of seeds was the best part. I ordered from Seed Savers and it was a great experience, such an array of heirloom seeds. The different varieties of seeds all seem to have these incredible back stories of how the seed emigrated, along with its culture, to the US. You can actually trace the seed lineage. And now here they are going into my garden. Fascinating.

I don’t have that much experience in gardening, and this will only be my fourth year at it. And the first I’m really trying anything ballsy. But this time around I want to get to know the dirt, feel it, learn from the dirt, and and connect with it.

So please wish me luck on my journey. And any inspiration or ideas you share will be appreciated.

5 thoughts on “A garden change or challenge?

  1. Good luck! But you won’t actually need it :-).
    The only pieces of advice I have for seed raising inside are – put the seed tray in a very bright area prior to germination (light, warmth and moisture are the three things seeds must have to germinate); don’t feed the seedlings too early…wait until at least the second set of true leaves have appeared (otherwise you can risk burning the seedlings); carrots hate being transplanted, so be very careful, and the younger you can get them into the soil, the better. In your area, you should be able to sow these in situ come late April in deeply dug, crumbly soil (hard-packed soil causes bent carrots).

    Like

    • Thamks for thr advice Matt, I’m just a little nervous I have never done anything like this. But thanks for wishing me luck. I am very eager, and am excited because I’m going all organic this season also.

      Like

  2. You sound very organised, Ben. I tend to grow vegetables by trial and error, usually grow some of my own seedlings each season and save seeds. My latest experiment is to just let some plants go to seed in parts of the vegetable beds, see what happens and thin out/ re-plant if necessary. I also agree with Matt that carrots are best planted in situ.

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m sure this will be trial and error as well. So you mean uou let the plants go to seed see if they will regrow the follosing season? Interesting, so many great ideas out there. Thanks for yiur advice on the carrots. In your opinion would it be more advantageous to sow the carrot seeds direct to the soil?

      Like

Leave a Reply

